Home > Medicine, Random Thoughts, Rants, resolution > Midyear recollection

Midyear recollection

Not literally mid-year now, but I have officially completed half of my housemanship job/training. 6 month down the line, if everything goes on smoothly, I will turn MO in Sept 2015.

To me, it is more of mind-blowing rather than exciting. It feels like I have not growing much since I started surgical posting. Not only it seems that I remained stagnant, I do think I am deteriorating in terms of medical knowledge and critical thinking when it comes to managing patient on my own.

No doubt I am still working everyday and pick up skills to survive HO-ship fine. But I found myself complaining and whining too much about work and life. I have stopped exercising, stopped blogging, stopped doing things I used to enjoy such as cooking and photographing.

To be honest, yes, life as a surgical HO is tough and lifeless. It takes away part of me, the part of me who is eager for knowledge and new information, the part of me who is hungry for improvement.

Reading this post about life as an A&E senior registrar, picture-like memory flashed back and reminded me the days during my 5th year A&E posting, and how enjoyable working and learning under Dr Khodabucos. He must be so disappointed if he found out my current state. Be it Paeds or A&E, this shouldn’t be what I am doing.

Time for some changes. No matter how much I hated GS, I should push myself through and learn something everyday. Take a thing at a time and live a day at a time. (quote valerie)

Hope it really happens this time and doesn’t die off so quickly.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

